Rooney freedom of Derby

BaianoPOTY98

Does anyone on this forum seriously think that Rooney should have been awarded the freedom of Derby title?

Well personally I’m a big fat no, although I thought he conducted himself very well during our administration period, as a manager I wouldn’t want him back, but what really constitutes to gaining freedom of Derby?

1 hour ago, BaianoPOTY98 said:

Does anyone on this forum seriously think that Rooney should have been awarded the freedom of Derby title?

Well personally I’m a big fat no, although I thought he conducted himself very well during our administration period, as a manager I wouldn’t want him back, but what really constitutes to gaining freedom of Derby?

As far as I know he’s not got the keys to my house, so I’m not sure what it means. 

At the time it was initially announced I don't think anybody would have disputed giving it to him.

However as time has passed and with the the benefit of hindsight it appears it was emotionally charged idea. 

Had he he still been at the club I would personally have  advocated awarding it to him. It doesn't seem right now he no longer has any long term connection with the club.

Having said that I'm still personally thankful and have the utmost respect to him for the way he conducted himself at the time. He was immense in the way he held the club together. 

I think he should get it for that marvellous performance against Blackburn where he looked like a giant blueberry  about to burst and cost us 2 goals in the first 30 minutes.  I'm not sure I've ever seen a player in such appalling shape run out for a game of football . It was disgraceful.