People who are universally loved

I have been using Quora for 12+ years, and I love reading about celebrities who do good things and bad things.

I have heard most A-listers slated. And some, seemingly, are utter douches. Although I take the ones that start off with 'It didn't happen to me, but a friend of mine once...." 

But, I have never heard a bad word from anybody who has met any of these four people. In fact, not sure I have even heard any 'my mate says he's a knob' stories either, and they are clearly universally loved.

Paul McCartney

Barrack Obama

Tom Hanks

Robin Williams 

It's a pretty US-centric site, so are there any more, other than David Attenborough, about whom you have heard repeated nice things?

Not that I have heard anything good about DA per se that I can think of. But you could have seen him wearing a split Forest/Leeds shirt, Goosestepping up and down the King's Road dripping in cute, newly-slaughtered bunny rabbit blood and hurling racist obscenities, and I'd still want to hug him. So, he's a given.

Lee Mack. Despite him appearing in 3 major tv productions (Not Going Out, Would I Lie to You and 1% Club) which can sometimes be on same day, no one (myself included) complains. Naturally funny and seems a good bloke.

5 hours ago, Bob The Badger said:

I have been using Quora for 12+ years, and I love reading about celebrities who do good things and bad things.

Quora? What’s that? A meat substitute? Never heard of it

20 minutes ago, EtoileSportiveDeDerby said:

Mandela and Ghandi ought to be in the mix

Not sure about Gandhi mate! He was known to be fairly anit-Semitic and was a bit of a knob at a personal level, I think.

And Mandela was involved in a lot of bombings and terrorist attacks.

Both were loved by hundreds of millions, but by no means was it universal.

5 hours ago, Bob The Badger said: