Stupid goal kicks

BatRam

3 minutes ago, TomSaint said:

Please can someone tell me what them stupid goal kicks are about? 
where Davies kicks it to Roos under pressure from opposition for him to then lump it upfield? He can literally lump it upfield without any pressure if he didn’t do the pass in the first place ??

Wayne explained it partly, post-match: it’s about drawing the opposition midfield out of shape. Wayne has told them to keep working on it despite the vitriolic fan disapproval. I must say, it looks like schoolboy football in a “car crash about to happen” scenario. I myself was coached in the % game and as a coach I wouldn’t allow that sort of defensive risk …but I’m no Wayne Rooney. 

At least when questioned about it on Radio Derby post-match, when the ignorant interviewer blamed the players, Rooney corrected him and said it was all on him (Rooney) and that he was ordering the players to do this, believing that although players will sometimes make mistakes trying to implement the instructions, we benefit in the long run from this. I would say Rooney is an utter fool and it's a total nonsense, but sadly there was zero indication he was going to stop making the players play in such an idiotic fashion.

It was stupid as the Bournemouth players were too close. Was too risky. I think the idea is to draw the attackers in and then two attackers have been taken out after the next pass- to another defender. If it works, Bournemouth have 2 players taken out the match while we start an attack. I think on this occasion there was too much danger and the goalkeeper has to be able to control the ball perfectly!

The only other teams I’ve seen do it are the Italian national team and some Serie A teams. It can be effective with players who are comfortable on the ball under pressure, but today the Bournemouth press was quick and effective and a sloppy touch from Roos cost us a goal.