Jump to content

Jack Stamps Trophy


Recommended Posts


The trophy named after club legend Jack Stamps was first introduced in 1968-69.

Roy McFarland was the inaugural winner and the current holder of the prize is goalkeeper Scott Carson.

29 out of 49 years won by a defender or goalkeeper, is that to be expected ?

would expect it to be Carson or Vydra this year.

1968–69 Roy McFarland

1969–70 John O'Hare

1970–71 Dave Mackay

1971–72 Colin Todd

1972–73 Kevin Hector

1973–74 Ron Webster

1974–75 Peter Daniel

1975–76 Charlie George

1976–77 Leighton James

1977–78 Dave Langan

1978–79 Steve Powell

1979–80 Steve Buckley

1980–81 Roger Jones

1981–82 Steve Buckley

1982–83 Steve Cherry

1983–84 Archie Gemmill

1984–85 Bobby Davison

1985–86 Ross MacLaren

1986–87 Geraint Williams

1987–88 Michael Forsyth

1988–89 Mark Wright

1989–90 Mark Wright

1990–91 Dean Saunders

1991–92 Ted McMinn

1992–93 Marco Gabbiadini

1993–94 Martin Taylor

1994–95 Craig Short

1995–96 Dean Yates

1996–97 Chris Powell

1997–98 Francesco Baiano

1998–99 Jacob Laursen

1999–2000 Mart Poom

2000–01 Chris Riggott

2001–02 Danny Higginbotham

2002–03 Giorgi Kinkladze

2003–04 Youl Mawene

2004–05 Inigo Idiakez

2005–06 Tommy Smith

2006–07 Steve Howard

2007–08 The Fans

2008–09 Rob Hulse

2009–10 Shaun Barker

2010–11 John Brayford

2011–12 Craig Bryson

2012–13 Richard Keogh

2013–14 Craig Bryson

2014–15 Will Hughes

2015–16 Richard Keogh

2016-17 Scott Carson


Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Close to call but Vydra, Davies, Carson are my top three. In that order.

Tough to choose though becauase Vydra could go and get another 10 or Carson could save 4 penalties against Wolves, Villa, Boro and Cardiff and keep us in the play-offs.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

If Carson wins it looks like he will be the only player to achieve it two consecutive seasons since Mark Wright in the late 80's. Both players England internationals with Wrighty starring in Italia 90, the tournament England really should have won.  

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Between a player who has won us games, and a player who has, at times single-handedly kept us in games.

Carson's had a good season, but Vydra's had one hand on this trophy since the goal in 24 seconds against the Trees, plus he looks a different player from last season.

Honourable mentions for Davies and Keogh.

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...