Moving to the midlands...

So after 15 years in Los Angeles, it looks like my wife and I are making our way back to England. There's a good chance I'll be working in Leamington Spa, but I know very little about the area, how close we should live or how easy it will be to get to pride park. 

Anyone have any thoughts? Might end up applying to go on Escape to the Country. 

We want some old quiet fairly remote house that is still close enough to a supermarket and basic amenities 

Edited by wixman1884

I used to be an area manager for Warwickshire so I know the area reasonably well.

A lot will depend on your budget. In my experience, Leamington Spa is a bit more up market than Rugby (no offence @AndyinLiverpool 😀) and so is probably more expensive. Obviously, the issue diminishes the further away from the towns you live.

Another option is perhaps North of LS (Kenilworth sort of area). The upside is you wouldn’t have to navigate the M6 but the payback is you’d face the M42 near Birmingham airport and the NEC. Getting to Derby would probably be quicker and easier from the Rugby area depending on how far north you chose if you went for the LS option. Other considerations might be: The Rugby area is better for rail links to London and the North West but the LS area would probably be better for Birmingham, Birmingham airport and driving to the West Country. 

Regarding supermarkets and local amenities, whilst a lot of the area is quite rural, I don’t think any of it is remote enough for you to need to worry. 

Warwickshire is a bit of a split north to south. North of Leam you have some nice villages (Offchurch, Dunchurch, Ufton, Avon Dassett and others near Southam) that will be a bit cheaper. Get south of the M40 and you get closer to the Cotswolds with prices moving up accordingly. We are between Stratford and Banbury and have access to Shipston, Leamington and Warwickand still only about a 20 min drive from Leamington.