Peter Phelan

Scott mecca

Hi I’m new to the page so hope I’m doing this right, I’m just wondering if anyone has any information for me about Peter phelan (my grandad) I believe he played around 1970 not sure if he played for the first team or not. he is on the front row of the 1970-71 watney cup winners photo he once told me clough came and got him from home as he used to get home sick and just go home after away games thanks for reading scott

Edited by uttoxram75

On 05/05/2022 at 09:08, Scott mecca said:

Hi I’m new to the page so hope I’m doing this right, I’m just wondering if anyone has any information for me about Peter phelan (my grandad) I believe he played around 1970 not sure if he played for the first team or not. he is on the front row of the 1970-71 watney cup winners photo he once told me clough came and got him from home as he used to get home sick and just go home after away games thanks for reading scott

A little bit before my time but there are lots on here who may remember him. 

I wonder whether @Crewton or @Brailsford Ram can help?

On 05/05/2022 at 09:08, Scott mecca said:

I remember Peter Phelan. He never played in the first team but he certainly played in the Reserve team in the Central League when Clough managed Derby. Because I was watching the first team home and away I only went to the Reserves mid-week games when the first team weren't playing. Clough involved a few Reserves around the Watney Cup winning squad without playing them. That tournament was in the pre-season of 1970-71.

He was still with Derby in the 1971-72 season. Fifty years tomorrow we clinched the First Division Championship. We also won the Texaco Cup and the Reserves won the Central League title. Peter Phelan made one appearance and two as a substitute in the Central League that season. I think the club released him at the end of the season. I think he joined as an apprentice professional aged 15 or 16.