Demand Based Pricing - fair or not? Fans' survey.

Striker505

Hi Derby County fans!

I am a postgraduate student at Loughborough University, studying on the MSc Sport Management programme. I am writing a dissertation about the tactics used by football clubs to increase match-day revenues and attendance. In particular my research considers whether demand-based pricing can improve match-day revenue, attendance and fans' satisfaction.

As you know, there are only two clubs in the English football industry that have adopted such pricing, so Derby really leads the way! I have already done my theoretical part and gathered secondary data, and now I need your help!

It will take approximately 3-4 minutes of your time! And you can't imagine how valuable would be your responses! So I will greatly appreciate if you help me to finish my project!

Thank you very much!

https://qtrial.qualtrics.com/SE/?SID=SV_5uJZCJrgQqt3cH3

• Replies 91
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I can't be arsed just yet to visit your questionaire, but will say that Demand Based Pricing has backfired on me more than it's benefitted me.

In my previous employment, I was paid monthly and running a little short of cash. Meaning I was unable to buy a ticket way in advance, as I also wasn't too committed to going to this particular game.

Then, on the day before the game, also my payday, I decided I wanted to go to the game. I drove from Ashbourne after work, and got to the club shop too late to buy a ticket. So on the Saturday morning, I drove to get a ticket, only to be told it was £35!!

The game was against Watford, who were not pulling up any trees, and we were pretty average too. So no way was I paying £35 for a game that I know was £14 ten days earlier, when I wasn't committed enough to buy on credit card. (not a fan of credit).

So, I walked away and went to the gym instead for a sauna!

Oh, Derby won and scored 5 goals! :/

The game was against Watford, who were not pulling up any trees