Derby City Council

Sith Happens

Ok so im no expert, but, Derby City Council announcing that because of cuts forced on them by central government they have announced some VERY public cuts,  markeaton fireworks, darley park concert, moorways swimingpool, and the christmas icerink and lights.

Seems to me nothing more than political point scoring.

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply
1 hour ago, Paul71 said:

Ok so im no expert, but, Derby City Council announcing that because of cuts forced on them by central government they have announced some VERY public cuts,  markeaton fireworks, darley park concert, moorways swimingpool, and the christmas icerink and lights.

What are you saying?

The City Council should cut other stuff?

Bin collections? Care home places?

1 hour ago, Paul71 said:

Really???? The cut's are massive, would you like them to cut essential services?

Have you not heard about Conservative run Oxfordshire County Council who's leader has been involved in a spat with David Cameron on the levels of cuts? OCC have announced big cuts to services and Cameron wrote a letter to the councils Conservative leader. Who could not believe that Cameron was even asking the question?

http://www.oxfordmail.co.uk/news/13948252.David_Cameron_clashes_with_council_over_cuts_to_frontline_services/

To put the cut's into perspective here's the levels were talking about. 

Councils are currently half way through a scheduled 40 per cent cut in funding from central government. Having delivered £10 billion of savings in the three years from 2011/12, local authorities have to find the same savings again in the next two years. As a result of these cuts councils in many areas will not have enough money to meet all their statutory responsibilities.

Our future funding outlook model predicts that the amount of money available to deliver some