A bit like Man Utd

Toadbelly

Does anyone else see similarities between our Nige's managerial style and that of Mr. Ferguson? More so than with his old man for example although I am no expert on that being just a young pup....relative to some of you old farts i mean.

He likes his team to be solid at the back.

His team tends to have a very strong work ethic and team spirit.

He is not afraid to let his superstars go.

His team attacks with pace and venom as opposed to slow build up.

His players play as a team and want to be there.

When he feels he has made a mistake with a player, he lets them go (E.g. Obertan and Moxey)

When he feels he is right about a player, he sticks with him despite what the fans think (Berbatov and Savage)

He believes in giving youth a chance and feels strongly that the club should generate its own talent as well as bring it in from outside.

He is a one team manager.

Now, I know that for some of these we are not there yet but I think we are on course. And if we are not going to play like Arsenal, I'll certainly take playing like Man Utd as a good second.

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Interesting theory. I must point out though that neither of them are 'one team managers'. Ferguson had major success at Aberdeen before joining Manure.

Another similarity (Burton).

I like that theory Toadbelly,I like it a lot.:D

And there's nowt wrong with trying to emulate Fergie,even if on a different scale.

Not saying it's what's happening just saying.So put yer neck in folks.;):p:D

We've only been solid at the back for a very small amount of games whilst he's been at the club. I'm sure every manager would "like" to be strong at the back. Still early days if this defence is capable of carrying on the form.

Did they work very hard last season or the season before?

I presume you mean Commons and Hulse? both were out his hands due to contracts and financial reasons. Nothing like Fergie selling Stam and Beckham.