PC Experts

EastKentRam

Need some assitance with purchasing a desktop.

I'm a complete novice when it comes to stuff like this but think I need a few requirements. Will basically purely be used for running poker applications and internet ****.

Prepared to spend the extra for a Solid State Drive, which massively boosts speed/performance from what I've read? That's my main requirement with everything else being fairly trivial.

Also want to hook up two monitors to it so need the correct video card?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ULTRA-FAST-Quad-Core-8GB-1TB-120GB-SSD-Desktop-HTPC-Gaming-PC-Computer-AMD-HD-/141379021685?_trksid=p2054897.l4275

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Intel-I5-4460-Quad-Core-Fast-Office-Home-Multimedia-Pc-Computer-SSD-4Gb-Van-B-/121187196201?_trksid=p2054897.l4275

They're just two thing I've found without looking much? Realise they dont come with an operating system but that's no problem although would rather they did. Any recommendations for websites?

Any help appreciated.

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Unless you're doing anything that needs quick read or write times, which apparently you're not, the only difference you're likely to notice by using an SSD is in boot speed. To be totally honest for what you plan to use it for you could easily get by with a sub

Unless you're doing anything that needs quick read or write times, which apparently you're not, the only difference you're likely to notice by using an SSD is in boot speed. To be totally honest for what you plan to use it for you could easily get by with a sub

Thanks for the reply Dave, appreciate that.

What are quick read and write times? From poker forums/sites I've read a lot of people suggest getting the SSD as it helps with running the HUD software (stores every hand you play, stats etc, I must have hundreds of thousands of hands)