Trapattoni urges James McCarthy and Jeff Hendrick to find Premier League clubs

DcfcNews12

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm not surprised, nor shocked.

Trap should be encouraging his younger players to better themselves in a higher league - but if I was a premier league manager, I wouldn't be rushing out to sign Hendrick personally.

I think he is a good championship player, and a great championship player on his day - but, I think he'd only find himself in and out a first team picture in an established premier league side. 

This is the article on the BBC:

Trapattoni has also been delighted with the recent efforts of Derby midfielder Jeff Hendrick.

The 21-year-old could get a chance to face up to some of the world game's biggest names in the game.

Many of Trapattoni's players play in the lower reaches of the Premier League or the Championship, and that is a situation the Italian sometimes struggles to understand.

"I think very much about our players who play in the Championship and not in the Premier League," added the Republic boss.

"For example, Conor Sammon, Hendrick, they play Championship, and I have to ask why when I see the games in the Premier League and the way they play with us. Quality is quality."

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/22836598

Posted in the Irish Sun.

"Irish SunSport Monday: Trapattoni urges James McCarthy and Jeff Hendrick to find Premier League clubs @noriordan @FAIreland"

To be fair he finished by saying: "I don't want to get the managers or clubs angry, but I would like to see my players playing for top clubs. Unfortunately, they play in the Championship or at the bottom of the Premier League."

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/international/2013/0609/455595-trap-spanish-challenge-for-mccarthy/

I think the Irish Sun have twisted the meaning a little bit.

Trapattoni says "They're too good for the Championship" (or words to that effect) = Irish Sun: "Trapattoni wants them to move to a Premier League team!"