Paul Simpson my dad

simmoram1995

Hi folks, just wanted to post today as it’s a very special day for my family. My dad Paul Simpson retires today from teaching after a 43 year career. He taught at Bemrose School, South East Derbyshire college, Alderwasly Hall and then the Roundhouse. I’m unsure but I think being a local teacher I thought some of you might have heard of him or even had relatives taught by him. 

He also happens to be a very vocal person in the North Stand having started following the rams since 1980 when he moved from Bradford. 

I organised a series of surprises for him including a signed card from the players , a video message from Paul Warne and the article below. 

I wouldn’t normally post this but he’s a huge ram and the backlash teachers get for striking he has remained in the profession for 43 years even after suffering a near catastrophic Subarachnoid haemorrhage.

https://www.derbytelegraph.co.uk/news/derby-news/derby-teacher-who-didnt-brain-8570319

Ive got massive respect for anyone who manages to teach for that long. Given the tales my kids tell me about what goes on at their secondary school id rather work in a prison!

A mate has just retired from teaching after 23 years through ill health/stress/depression. his first day working with us was a real eye opener: "people I support are actually nice to me here"

well done Simmo!

15 minutes ago, swanny said:

Ive got massive respect for anyone who manages to teach for that long. Given the tales my kids tell me about what goes on at their secondary school id rather work in a prison!

A mate has just retired from teaching after 23 years through ill health/stress/depression. his first day working with us was a real eye opener: "people I support are actually nice to me here"

well done Simmo!