Grassroots / Scouts

YouRams

Just noticed a post on Facebook from Burton Junior Football Group Winshill FC advertising their summer gala tournament.

In the post they've said "please - No Scouts - If you turn up with a £1000 donation in cash, you can come in for 1 hour! We have already turned away several local Championship clubs" and another which repeated it but finishes WE have worked hard for OUR club.

Is it just me or does that not sit right? Surely the aim of every grassroots club would be to grow their players with the ultimate reward being those kids get scouted, potentially changing their lifes? I have no involvement in grass roots so could be completely missing something but would like to hear others opinions.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Most active in this topic

Popular Days

Most active in this topic

I'm a grassroots coach, which doesn't by any means make opinion any more valid than any others, but personally think clubs are targeting players too young. 

At 7 or 8 years old, players should be enjoying playing football with their mates.

By all means let them go to coaching with professional teams but don't stop them from playing with their mates.

6 minutes ago, G STAR RAM said:

I'm a grassroots coach, which doesn't by any means make opinion any more valid than any others, but personally think clubs are targeting players too young. 

At 7 or 8 years old, players should be enjoying playing football with their mates.

By all means let them go to coaching with professional teams but don't stop them from playing with their mates.

When I was a kid many moons ago the one lad that had been scouted from our team was still able to play Sundays with us has that been stopped now? 

5 minutes ago, YouRams said:

When I was a kid many moons ago the one lad that had been scouted from our team was still able to play Sundays with us has that been stopped now? 

Yes, most clubs will not let you play for other teams.

1 hour ago, YouRams said: