Homebrew

Wolfie

I've decided to have a go at wine-making at home and have just bought a 6 bottle starter kit for wine in 3-4 weeks. It had decent reviews but might be rubbish.

Since I'm new to all this, I'd be interested in any tips or recommendations that people might have.

One question: Do I need to have bottles with corks or can I re-use screw top bottles that I have in the recycling?.

• Replies 11
  • Created
  • Last Reply

wait til @eddie sees this.

He's gonna tear you a new one! Wine? Wine?? Get the proper stuff brewing and give it a good name too!

​Not me mate.

I made some Chablis-style wine myself a few years ago and if I say so myself, it was not too chablis shabby. I haven't brewed anything apart from the odd kit for the last few months - we had a new kitchen installed and the taps are not compatible with all my hoses but I'm going to get a stand-pipe plumbed in over the next few weeks so I'll start again. 

Re corks - not necessary at all. Many pretty decent wines you buy nowadays are screw-cap - provided the cap is lined, it's not a problem. This nonsense about letting a wine age and breathe is just that - nonsense. Oxygen in all brewing is your enemy. Gerrit down your neck.

Re corks - not necessary at all. Many pretty decent wines you buy nowadays are screw-cap - provided the cap is lined, it's not a problem. This nonsense about letting a wine age and breathe is just that - nonsense. Oxygen in all brewing is your enemy. Gerrit down your neck.

​Thanks. I do buy decent wine when I can and yes, most of it comes with screw caps nowadays. I remember when they first started using them in supermarkets and I was a bit of snob & only bought bottles with corks. No getting away from them now & at least I can re-use old bottles instead of buying new ones.

Yes screw top are so much easier than corks. We never use corks.

Get yourself to a park(we go to Shipley park) and pick loads of fruit and get it bubbling.