Army

xXDcFcXx

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I very nearly went, I had the interview about it and only decided not to go a few days before I was due to sign the forms.

It's a huge decision to take, so talk to your family and only do it if you really want to go. If you're thinking "Might as well go, nothing else on", then don't go as your heart won't be in it. Go to your careers officer, talk to them, talk to the army themselves, they're very helpful with it all.

Like I said, it's a big decision, so talk to your family and the army and see if it's something you'd actually want to do.

I'm in my first year of college and I've had this thing in my head that is telling me to join the army after college. Anyone here been in the army for a bit? What is it like if you have?

I dont know how old you are but the Army Cadet Force could be a good way of getting experience in the Army structure - its not part of the army and you can't be called up for service by being a member, could be worth looking at this website

http://www.armycadets.com/join/instructors/qa/

Dav used to be in the TA until he moved to Bournemouth for 18months of training for a new job (thankfully for me he got discharged from the reserve list the day we went into Iraq so now cant get called up). That could be another option, and you get paid for it too. But bear in mind the TA route means you could be called up at any time and sent to War.

http://www.armyjobs.mod.uk/benefits/pay/pages/territorialarmy%28ta%29.aspx

Not trying to scare you or anything but hope the above helps

I have the upmost respect for anyone in the army but I wouldn't want to be abused by government and sent in an unnecessary war as cannon fodder.

It's tragic that this is what it has become.

How many wars are actually 'just' though?