ZONAL MARKING

I don’t profess to know anything much about zonal marking but it is clearly not working for Derby County. That being the case, why haven’t we changed to man for man marking?- it’s probably too late to change now and, of course, the team maybe just as bad at man to man marking. Is zonal marking still prevalent in the top 2 divisions and what are its perceived advantages? As a layman, I would have thought that giving each player a nominated opposition player to mark would be much simpler , particularly at set pieces.

6 minutes ago, Arsene Titman said:

I don’t profess to know anything much about zonal marking but it is clearly not working for Derby County. That being the case, why haven’t we changed to man for man marking?- it’s probably too late to change now and, of course, the team maybe just as bad at man to man marking. Is zonal marking still prevalent in the top 2 divisions and what are its perceived advantages? As a layman, I would have thought that giving each player a nominated opposition player to mark would be much simpler , particularly at set pieces.

Agree completely. I've never understood it's benefits, and when done badly it just leaves opposition players free at set pieces. 

Tbh I think it works really well

we leave their players in their own little zone to do with as they please and then they score 

recycle and repeat ... and the great thing is too we’ve found multiple different ways to do it  

or is that not how it’s meant to work ? ? 

Edited by NottsRam77

I’ve suggested this before, but I suspect Rooney is trying to apply playing ideas to our ragtag bunch that might work for higher Premier League players but are simply too difficult for our mob to cope with. You’d hope he’d have worked it out by now and changed to something more simple, but he does seem to have a level of stubbornness that overrides common sense…..

5 minutes ago, Gaspode said: