I'm a grassroots referee... Ask me anything.

Wazztie16

• Replies 129
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Sounds like you’re as far as I got when I was officiating. Wish you all the best in doing it. It is rewarding and enjoyable.....

I just hope we have sensible comments instead of being used as a punchbag come 5pm on a Saturday.

I also hope people will appreciate how short we are of officials in this country....

I hope from this thread, people take away a little bit more understanding and from a neutral point of view.

Thank you, I do find it rewarding and enjoyable. I get a lot out of it, knowing I'm playing my part in getting games to go ahead, keeping fit and earning a bit of money along the way, that's my order of why I do it. I know how valuable grassroots sport is to people. 

I'm looking forward to enlightening fellow rams fans on why we give the decisions we do at grassroots level, how difficult it is to see 2/3/4 things at once, on different areas of the pitch, how we try to keep match control, and how we manage to take the abuse that we do, amongst the other questions you'll have. 

Should be fun ?

5 minutes ago, David said:

Are referees told not to talk to managers on the pitch after the game? 

After the Leeds game today Dyche clearly asking the referee what time can he come and see him, which the referee blatantly ignored him.

30 minutes after - Dyche knows this, that was for the cameras.....

6 minutes ago, David said:

Are referees told not to talk to managers on the pitch after the game? 

After the Leeds game today Dyche clearly asking the referee what time can he come and see him, which the referee blatantly ignored him.

Yes, as far as I can recall from the laws of the game. Being a level 7 referee, and still wet behind the ears, a manager coming onto the pitch after the final whistle is a no no.