Soldier F

StockholmRam

For my 2000 post I thought it prudent to change my profile photo and start a new thread with a topic close to my heart right now. So saddened from this distance to see how this government is going after ex service personel and bringing prosecutions. Im sure this will be quite a diversive topic but as a former soldier I think it needs to be much more high profile in media than it is. 

The good friday agreement has allowed many terrorists to have their convictions quashed and overturned. Its a bitter pill to swallow but I and many others will swallow it if it means peace. Thats my conssesion. Its tough to take but we do so. 

Now, the other side of the coin. Why are British military personel from recent and way back being subjected to what I view as a witch hunt? I dont get it. You join, you know that at some point you are likely to be asked to fight. Fighting comes in many guises and I promise you that have never been there that in the heat of battle, and the stress of the moment, not everything is text book. Its impossible to stay 100% within the rules of engagement all the time. You do that and its highly possible you wont be coming back home to friends and family. All who serve know this. 

Shame on you government. 

image.jpg

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

A very difficult subject no doubt. I've never served and aren't likely to now, so have no comprehension of the heat of battle point.

Is there a theoretical or real line you shouldn't cross in combat situations?

I sympathise tho that with the passage of time it seems futile to keep pursuing incidents such as bloody Sunday.  Is there no possibility of a straightforward amnesty for all of what occurred?