FFP going into next season

Kernow

Apologies for yet another FFP thread, but the Summer Transfer Suggestion thread got me thinking.

I'm not an expert on the ins and outs of how FFP laws work, I believe I know the basics but don't have the interest to read into it with a great deal of depth. So for those who do, am I right in saying that losses are calculated over a 3-year period season-wise?

I'm asking because if this is the case, it would technically mean the 2015/16 outgoings are no longer included would it not? Using rough figures, that season we had an expenditure of circa £25mil on transfers, and an income of £0.

We all have our own ideas about which areas will need to be improved should we find ourselves in the Championship again next season, and it would be a lot easier to add real quality to those areas if we had an extra £25mil leeway in terms of meeting FFP regulations. I'm not saying we should go and chuck £25mil at any old players just because we can, but having the flexibility would be nice for GR to have, as he clearly didn't have that in the most recent summer.

Unless I'm understanding it wrong, from next season our losses would be calculated for 16/17, 17/18 and 18/19. In the first of those years I think we were relatively even. ~£14m out on Nugent, Vydra and Anya. Then probably just short of that in from Hendrick, Grant, Shotton and Albentosa. For this season according to Transfermarkt we've spent around £12m and brought in £21m. The £25m loss removed from 2015/16 could make a big difference to us financially.

• Replies 171
  • Created
  • Last Reply
24 minutes ago, Kernow said:

am I right in saying that losses are calculated over a 3-year period season-wise?

I'm asking because if this is the case, it would technically mean the 2015/16 outgoings are no longer included would it not? Using rough figures, that season we had an expenditure of circa £25mil on transfers, and an income of £0.