Changes to accounting procedures to affect FFP?

CornwallRam

I thought that I'd lighten the mood by posting the most boring thread of the year.

Now I'm a historian not an accountant. When I read something that I don't fully understand, I have a personality defect which means I can't rest until I've made myself understand it - which is good for a historian, but not good for things like a social life. So this thread is a plea to those with better knowledge of accounts than me to help me decipher some accountancy changes.

From what I can gather, from this season clubs have to adopt a new set of accounting rules - FRS 102. I'm told that this will have an impact on FFP. Company assets will have to be revalued and the rules for amortisation alter slightly to involve more front loading. It seems that this will make most clubs fail FFP this season - I presume that there will be something like a one off amnesty where penalties are waived if they would have passed the old rules.

Can anyone shed any more light on this? Am I even correct in saying that there will be changes - I've been unable to find very much written on it at all?

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply
5 hours ago, CornwallRam said:

I thought that I'd lighten the mood by posting the most boring thread of the year.

Now I'm a historian not an accountant. When I read something that I don't fully understand, I have a personality defect which means I can't rest until I've made myself understand it - which is good for a historian, but not good for things like a social life. So this thread is a plea to those with better knowledge of accounts than me to help me decipher some accountancy changes.