Just a job

Normanton End

Hello mate. You used to serve me when you were on the till at Tesco.

Er, hello

What are you doing nowadays?

I'm a student.

What do you think of the upgrade they've done at your old store.

I don't know. I don't shop there.

They've got ten new tills and they've done a repaint.

Er, ok.

Do you miss it?

I don't think about. It was just a job.

Do you think the new chairman will turn things around?

Sorry, but since I left I don't follow what's going on there.

Well, I can't stop. I'm off to Tescos.

• Replies 49
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've been in situations where I could have talked to quite a few ex-Derby players over the years but I have always respected their privacy. One of them even rang me up to talk about a trade related thing but I didn't think it was right to mention football because he was paying for the call and I didn't know if he was still interested in football.

Sat in a restaurant in Derby opposite the train station many years ago, back in the Jim Smith days. Ordered our food, I look around and Burton, Wanchope and some other guy were being seated. "Look it's Wanchope and Burton I said to me Dad" my Mum pipe s up who's that, explain they play for Derby. Next minute she's going through her handbag trying to find a piece of paper and pen, ask what she's doing and pulls out a till receipt and pen, go get their autographs....erm no I'm alright thanks, no go and get them, the full table starts urging me to go.

I felt a complete tw@t going up, just grateful smart phones wasn't around then otherwise it would have been a group photo.

I would have been 15/16 at the time, lost the receipt a few days later, probably binned it, told a few mates in passing conversation saw them out, ahh cool and that was it. Didn't mention the autograph and they didn't ask if I had got one.